Benefits from open educational resources

Posted: February 16, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Before this course the only fact that I knew about open educational resources was that these are resource which we can get for free. I haven’t any ideas about the enormous information about this subject. That was one of the main reason why I have joined the course and I must say it was worth spending the time and understanding different facts and ideas about open education.

At the beginning the videos from David Wiley and presentation of Eban Moglen were so simple and clear as an introduction to the meaning of open education. The idea that open means freedom tells everything. Open educational resources as recourse that are free to access, and free to reuse, revise, remix and redistributed means freedom to all the people around the world freedom to learn. As much as we learn we became better teacher. To teach means to educate yourself and to stay informed about new things. So teaching is not only a profession, it is a continuously way of learning and educating yourself and then students. Freedom to choose materials to learns, to learns from others good examples lays in open educational recourses. As soon as teachers will understand these, the amount of this resources will grow and we will became wealthier in educational context.

I have learned a lot by reading materials about OER definitions, paying attention of each word in them, thinking deeply about their meanings. I got some new ideas about benefits from using OER and why teachers don’t share their materials, especially by reading the discussions in Google+ OCL4Ed Community. I got so many information, like small pieces that know are putting together . Only I can say that now I have wider view about understanding the OER.

Something that attracts my attention was the quotation “If you have an apple and I have an apple and we exchange these apples then you and I will still each have one apple. But if you have an idea and I have an idea and we exchange these ideas, then each of us will have two ideas.” This says everything.  I think that this is something that we should have always in mind when we want to stress the importance of sharing ideas to have enormous achievement. 

Comments
  1. #OCL4Ed We have the same opinion with the topic. I have wrote the same last quotation in my blog. It really summarise the importance of OER. Eva

Leave a comment